Boise Depot

B

 

IMG_4268

Perched on the small hill where 3 roads meet, Capitol Blvd, 9th St and Federal Way, is the Boise Depot, also known as the Boise Train Depot.  It has to be one of my favourite spots in Boise.  Being a stone’s throw away from home, I often take my girls or just go myself to have a quiet moment or two.

IMG_4615Even before you enter the Depot, you can already sense that it’s steeped in history and  infused with character.  Having grown up with America being only on TV, the Boise Depot is like a scene out of a movie for me.  A step back in time.  Scenes of cops chasing the bad guy, lovers missing each other by seconds, the man with the newspapers who talks to the runaway teenager……you get my point.

IMG_4277A walk around the grounds is a must if you ever get a chance to visit.  From lily pads floating over the fish in the pond, breathtaking views of the foothills and the Idaho State Capitol Building to Big Mike, the steam locomotive, you’re in for a heartwarming treat.  IMG_4269But be sure NOT to get your kids to stand on the railway line to pose for a picture.  You may be led to believe that this train track is inactive, but may find out days later, as you drive by, that trains do in fact still make their way through this part of town.

IMG_4614I digress.  Where were we?  The Boise Depot.  It is only open to the public on Sundays and Mondays from 11 am to 5 pm.  Do make it a point to take a ride up in the elevator to the top of the tower.  The bell chimes on the hour.  If you are lucky and meet the right employee on duty (I shall not say which one for fear of getting him in trouble), he may just take you up at 5pm before they close to listen to the bell chime, up close and deafening.  Actually, it wasn’t as loud as I expected it to be.

Make Boise Depot your next stop.

10 thoughts on “Boise Depot”

      1. SO many options with Idaho. You’ll have to let me know if you get stuck on a letter. Hmm…some of my top picks would be North End, Henry’s Fork (or Island Park), Silver City, and Pearl (the town). Very excited about finding your blog.

  1. I’m nowhere near Boise, but should I ever visit, you’ve sure made a great case to come visit the Boise Depot. Great post and I like your pictures too.

Leave a Reply

